Test

Test
1. Complete the sentences with the present perfect of the verbs in brackets ( ). Remember that the adverbs ‘ever’ and ‘never’ go AFTER ‘have/has’ and BEFORE the past participle.

1. Sophie and I have known each other since we were at school together.
2. I have played tennis since I was eight years old.
3. Alain has been in hospital three times this year.
4. I have wanted to be an actor for as long as I can remember.
5. My uncle has smoked 40 cigarettes a day for 40 years – and he’s a doctor!
6. You had that suit for more than five years! Isn’t it time to get a new one?
7. Since he finished university, my brother has worked in six different countries.
8. Zerrin has watched that TV programme every week since it started.
9. I have never liked bananas. I think they’re horrible!
10. What’s the most interesting city you have ever visited?
11. They have been married for nearly fifty years.
12. She has lived in Liverpool all her life.
13. I have seen that film before.
14. I have played the guitar ever since I was a teenager.
15. She has lived in Liverpool all her life.

Match the pairs of sentences.

1 She can’t do sports. 
2 He’s still not feeling well. 
3 She’s crying. 
4 I’m very happy. 
5 The car won’t start. 
6 I have no money. 
7 You’re looking worried. 
8 We can go now. 
9 I’m not ready to go. 
10. Could I borrow that book some time? It looks really interesting. 
11 Why isn’t Ben at work today? 
12 Do you know Mary Johnson in the sales department? 
13 Where are you going on holiday this year? 
14 Would you like some more ice cream? 
15 Are you all right? 

a. She’s lost her bag.
b. He’s just had flu.
c. She’s broken her arm.
d. I haven’t had a shower yet.
e. I’ve spent it on computer games.
f. I haven’t left yet.
g. The taxi has just arrived.
h. My football team has just won.
i. What has happened?
j. We’ve decided to spend a week in Paris.
k. Sure, you can borrow it now. I have finished it.
l. No, thanks. I’ve had enough.
m. No, I’m not. I think somebody’s taken my bag.
n. I know the name but I’ve never met her.
o. He’s in hospital. He’s broken his leg!

3. Write the correct option.
1. The taxi hasn’t arrived –.
a. already
b. just
c. yet

2. He’s – his new watch.
a. breaked
b. broke
c. broken

3. He left home four hours ago and he – to say he’s arrived.
a. still hasn’t phoned
b. haven’t phoned yet
c. hasn’t just phoned

4. – yet?
a. Have you eaten your vegetables
b. You have eaten your vegetables
c.  Have you your vegetables eaten

5. A. Is Alex there? B. Oh sorry. He has —
a. gone already home
b. just gone home
c. gone home yet

6. That’s the worst film I ___ in my life!
a. saw
b. ‘ve seen

7. She must be really tired. She ___ late every night this week.
a.works
b. ‘s worked

8. You’ve got a new car? How long ___ the old one?
a. did you have
b. have you had

9. Oh dear, it looks like Jan ___ the shopping yesterday. I’ll go now.
a. didn’t do
b. hasn’t done

10. They ___ the documents I sent them! Now I have to send them all again.
a. lose
b. ‘ve lost

11. She ___ to swim on holiday in 2021.
a. learned
b. s learned

12. I think you’re my oldest friend! How long ___ each other?
a. do we know
b. have we known

13. I ___ a chance to call him back yet.
a. don’t have
b. haven’t had

14. I ___ in this flat since I moved here.
a. lived
b. ‘ve lived

15. ___ anyone famous when you were in New York?
a. Did you see
b. Have you seen

4. Make questions.
1. My sister has lived in a village for a couple of years. (General)
2. He has developed another bad habit. (Alternative)
3. I have waited for her for half an hour. (Special)
4. We have just got back from our holidays. (Disjunctive)
5. Scientists have recently discovered a new breed of monkey. (Special)

5. Translate these sentences

1. Դու երբևէ եղե՞լ ես Լոնդոնում: Այո: Անցյալ տարի ես այցելեցի Լոնդոն և մի քանի այլ քաղաքներ Անգլիայում:

Have you ever been in London? Yes. Last year I visited London and several other cities in England.


2. Մենք ընդամենը երկու րոպե էինք ուշացել, բայց ներկայացումն արդեն սկսվել էր:

We were only two minutes late, but the show had already started.


3. Նա եղել է տասը տարբեր երկրներում:

He has been to ten different countries.


4. Հեռախոսիս մարտկոցը սպառվել է: Կարո՞ղ եմ օգտագործել Ձերը:

My phone battery is dead. Can I use yours?


5. Երբևէ մազերդ ներկե՞լ ես այլ գույն:

Have you ever dyed your hair a different color?